EU Visa requirements for Americans

Good afternoon! I saw a blurb yesterday on one of my social media feeds that peaked my curiosity. Americans are to face more stringent travel screening to visit parts of Europe starting in 2021. I have not had time to research this fully as of yet and I will probably not have time for a few days. This requirement is supposed to take place in an area known as the Schengen Area which consists of 26 countries that do not have internal borders. Those countries include Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

According to the Washington Post, the title of the blurb is misleading. Americans will not be required to have a Visa to enter this area, but will have to go online and fill out an application for an upgraded screening process. This process will grant Americans a 3 year “pass” to enter the area as many times as they would like. You can find the upcoming changes and the application on the ETIAS website.

With that said, if you are planning a trip to Europe, why not make it now before the changes? Drop us a note on our contact page or call and we can begin planning and booking your European adventure!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top
%d bloggers like this: